“Work smarter, not harder”

Words Move

Words Move (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Taking up my Masters in Business Administration was one tough decision to make. All yuppies, my age would be wondering how on earth would they be able to manage their finances and their schedules despite maintaining an eight (8) hour, five to six day work day job and a family to look after at home.

Well we all need to set our priorities, some need to spend more time with their families, some with work, and some just find it right to juggle up all weeks workload.

I think, it might be unfair for others who have families of their own and who work the whole day. As for me, I get to work whenever and wherever I set my sights on something.

A typical workday for me starts with getting the table prepped with cooked food, plates and utensils  for breakfast. I always feel I have an obligation to do that for the people at home which include my mother and yours truly of course or otherwise when I feel so exhausted and end up waking at midday.

After breakfast, I usually get to my laptop and check for news and updates from my email over the web. Why get daily news papers when all necessary information and hot news are on the internet nowadays?

But I’m so glad I did something new today, I started on doing a thirty (30) minute routine to hopefully lose some of my excess weight. I’ve weighed around 220lbs for the past year and I’m starting to hate it because I don’t get to fit in my old clothes anymore .

While waiting for emails to pop up, I get groomed and ready for work, unless something necessary takes over my everyday routine and equilibrium. But the rest of the day is all visits, presentations and sales calls. That seems to be work for me.

My bonus is when I get to finalize, present and close big accounts. I guess I know what you’re thinking. All I can say is that it’s just slightly more than enough for me to get by my day to day expenses and increase my savings.

The rest of the day is work, work, work. After having experienced working with an eight hour shift for five to six days. I’d say, I’m  better off having more time for myself, and what I want to do. That for me is working smart.

However, not all people have the luxury to get into jobs that don’t require much of their time. A friend of mine who was an OFW and now into real estate told me, “You could earn the same, save the same and have more time for yourself here in the Philippines if you’re in sales”. You could bet, what she said struck me. How is that possible? But I figured that it can really happen. It would take so much courage, perseverance and discipline to do that.  Waking up everyday not worrying about everything because you got it all planned out.

Planning is one of the best and useful managerial tools invented. It just takes plotting and allocating the duration of what you would want to do during the day and the next, in order to achieve a goal or what you set your sights on.

It seems easier said than done, but its really relative to an individual’s perspective on how to live their life, balancing  both work and play.

I could also say that sometimes we would also need to lower our expectations and just learn to accept what comes. Although, this isn’t always the case because you planned these things to happen, and when you feel you are right, you just have to assert yourself and get things done the way it should be.

The most successful people I know are either into sales, business and multi-level marketing. More So, all employed individuals also end up finding themselves much better doing business. Risky but always worth it if you practice it with good parental diligence.

I’m not trying to change peoples’ minds. I give due respect to all those who had been working tirelessly for years, who find stability in their income, and those who already found meaning in their jobs.

At the end of the day, it will be our individual preferences that matter and it will only take a matter of time to decide on which should be a better choice to take.

“Work smarter, not harder”

― Carl Barks

One thought on ““Work smarter, not harder”

  1. Pingback: “Work smarter, not harder” | All in the Social Life of Dale

Leave a comment